OOMPH! – Retro Package Design

I went shopping with a friend today and while walking through the automotive department (where you’d not normally find me – my friends would laugh at the thought), my eyes were drawn to a label for OOMPH! Cleaner & Degreaser. I have a sentiment for retro-style design and this label fits the bill. While I’m not keen on the fist logo, I like how the overall design is simple, clean and packaged in a plastic yellow and red container, finishing off the retro-style.

But, perhaps part of why I like this label so much are the emotions I had when I saw it. Even though I’ve never seen or used this product before, it reminds me of something I’d expect to find tucked away in my dad’s garage from years ago. My dad is a woodworker so rummaging through scraps of wood in the garage was a common activity as a child. I recall finding old canisters of spray lubricant for his tools and tins of wax for the car, all with labels similar to the style of OOMPH! Cleaner & Degreaser.

I love when designs unexpectedly ignite a memory. If only I had a garage today, I’d have bought the last bottle on the shelf.

Leave a Reply

